Accessibility links

Breaking News

US Announces Team for Women's World Cup Soccer Tournament

U.S. women's national soccer team coach April Heinrichs has named the roster for this year's Women's World Cup football tournament in the United States. Heinrichs has leaned heavily on her experienced players while still leaving room for some new talent.

Heinrichs picked 12 players from the 1999 squad that won the world championship by beating China, including forward Mia Hamm, defender Brandi Chastain and goalkeeper Brianna Scurry.

Veterans Kristine Lilly, Julie Foudy, and Joy Fawcett are also on the team that begins defense of its title here in Washington September 21 against Sweden. Other members of the 1999 team on this year's roster include Shannon MacMillan, Cindy Parlow, Christine Pierce and Kate Sobrero. Heinrichs says that she wanted a mix of experience and new talent.

"This roster is a reflection of depth at every position. I also think we have players that really understand that there are players on our team that will be role players and players that will be personality players," she said. "And as long as we understand what our roles are and we buy into it, we can play better as a team than we can as individuals."

Eight players will make their World Cup debut. They are Shannon Boxx, Kylie Bivens, Angela Hucles, Siri Mullinix, Cat Reddick, Danielle Slaton, Aly Wagner and Abby Wambach.