Accessibility links

Breaking News

American Sprinter Kelli White Misses Chance at Women's World Athlete of Year - 2003-09-14

American sprinter Kelli White has missed her chance to become the women's World Athlete of the Year, after finishing fourth in the 100-meters Sunday at the inaugural World Athletics Final in Monaco.

White, competing under a cloud of controversy after testing positive for a stimulant at the worlds, needed to smash her personal best and clock a time of 10.77 to pass South African high jumper Hestrie Cloete's total of 1441 points in the women's overall rankings. But White finished with a time of 11.08 seconds, while her countrywoman Chryste Gaines won the race with a personal best time of 10.86 seconds.

Sweden's world heptathlon champion Carolina Kluft skipped the meet, but finished second with 1434 points. White's below-par performance means she stays third in the overall rankings. Cloete earned $100,000 for winning the title, while Kluft gets $50,000. White will receive $25,000 if she is cleared of doping charges.

Meanwhile, Hicham El-Guerrouj won $130,000 without stepping on the track. The Moroccan star pulled out of the meet because of fatigue and a high temperature, but had already accumulated enough points to win $100,000 as overall men's champion plus $30,000 for finishing top of the 1,500 meter rankings.

Meanwhile, three-time world champion Gail Devers of the United States put her disappointment at the Paris championships behind her with a win in the women's 100-meter hurdles. She clocked the fastest time of the year in the event, 12.45 seconds.

In the men's 200 meters, American Joshua J. Johnson took first place (in 20.35), while Mozambique's Maria Mutola continued her winning ways with a victory in the women's 800 meters.

Two-time defending world champion Felix Sanchez of the Dominican Republic coasted to victory in the 400-meter hurdles, while Mexican world champion Ana Guevara breezed home in the 400 meters.

Other men's winners:
1,500 meters, Paul Korir of Kenya (3:40.09), 3 minutes, 40.09
3,000 meter Steeplechase, Saif Saaeed Shaheen of Qatar (7:57.38),
5,000 meters, Eliud Kipchoge, Kenya (13:23.34)
Triple Jump, Christian Olsson, Sweden (17.55 meters)
High Jump, Yaroslav Rybakov, Russia (2.30 meters)
Javelin throw, Sergey Makarov, Russia (85.66 meters)

Other women's winners:
3,000 meters, Edith Masai, Kenya (8:36.82)
Discus throw, Vera Pospisilova, Czech Republic (65.42 meters)
Pole Vault, Tatyana Polnova, Russia (4.68 meters)
Long Jump, Eunice Barber, France (7.05 meters)