Accessibility links

Breaking News

International Automobile Federation Trims Formula One Race Schedule

The International Automobile Federation has announced that two Formula One races will be cut and another added to the sport's 2007 schedule, trimming the season from 18 to 17 races.

The world motor sports governing body announced Tuesday that the European Grand Prix in Nuerburgring, Germany and the San Marino Grand Prix in Imola, Italy have been dropped. But the Belgian Grand Prix at Spa-Francorchamps returns for 2007 after being dropped this year.

The new schedule was approved in a vote by the World Motor Sports Council.

The season begins in Melbourne, Australia on March 18 and finishes in Brazil on October 21.

The Australian Grand Prix will be followed by races in Malaysia (April 8) and Bahrain (April 15). The season moves to Europe for the Spanish Grand Prix (in Barcelona on May 13) and Monaco Grand Prix (on May 27).

The series then comes to North America for the Canadian and United States Grand Prix races (June 10 and 17).

The next seven races are in Europe featuring - in order - Grand Prix events in France (July 1), Britain (July 8), Germany (July 22), Hungary (August 5), Turkey (August 26), Italy (Monza, September 9), and Belgium (September 16).

The final three Formula One races of 2007 will be contested in China (September 30), Japan (October 7) and Brazil (October 21).