Accessibility links

Breaking News

List of Nominees for 89th Annual Academy Awards

FILE - A giant Oscar statuette at the 88th Academy Awards Nominees Luncheon in Beverly Hills, Calif.
FILE - A giant Oscar statuette at the 88th Academy Awards Nominees Luncheon in Beverly Hills, Calif.

List of nominees for the 89th annual Academy Awards presented by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

Best Picture: "Arrival,'' "Fences,'' "Hacksaw Ridge,'' "Hell or High Water,'' "Hidden Figures,'' "La La Land,'' "Lion,'' "Manchester by the Sea'', "Moonlight.''

Actor: Casey Affleck, "Manchester by the Sea''; Denzel Washington, "Fences''; Ryan Gosling, "La La Land;'' Viggo Mortensen, "Captain Fantastic''; Andrew Garfield, "Hacksaw Ridge.''

Actress: Isabelle Huppert, "Elle''; Ruth Negga, "Loving''; Natalie Portman, "Jackie''; Emma Stone, "La La Land''; Meryl Streep, "Florence Foster Jenkins.''

Supporting Actor: Jeff Bridges, "Hell or High Water''; Mahershala Ali, "Moonlight''; Dev Patel, "Lion''; Michael Shannon, "Nocturnal Animals;'' Lucas Hedges, "Manchester by the Sea.''

Supporting Actress: Viola Davis, "Fences''; Naomie Harris, "Moonlight''; Nicole Kidman, "Lion''; Octavia Spencer, "Hidden Figures''; Michelle Williams, "Manchester by the Sea.''

Directing: "Arrival,'' Denis Villeneuve; "Hacksaw Ridge'' Mel Gibson; "La La Land,'' Damien Chazelle; "Manchester by the Sea,'' Kenneth Lonergan; "Moonlight,'' Barry Jenkins.

Foreign Language Film: "Land of Mine,'' Denmark; "A Man Called Ove,'' Sweden; "The Salesman,'' Iran; "Tanna,'' Australia; "Toni Erdmann,'' Germany.

Adapted Screenplay: "Moonlight,'' screenplay by Barry Jenkins, story by Tarell Alvin McCraney; "Lion,'' screenplay by Luke Davies; "Arrival,'' screenplay by Eric Heisserer; "Fences,'' screenplay by August Wilson; "Hidden Figures,'' screenplay by Allison Schroeder and Theodore Melfi.''

Original Screenplay: "Hell or High Water,'' written by Taylor Sheridan; "La La Land,'' written by Damien Chazelle; "The Lobster,'' written by Yorgos Lanthimos, Efthimis Filippou; "Manchester by the Sea,'' written by Kenneth Lonergan; "20th Century Women,'' written by Mike Mills.

Animated Feature Film: "Kubo and the Two Strings,'' Travis Knight and Arianne Sutner; "Moana,'' John Musker, Ron Clements and Osnat Shurer; "My Life as a Zucchini,'' Claude Barras and Max Karli; "The Red Turtle,'' Michael Dudok de Wit and Toshio Suzuki; "Zootopia,'' Byron Howard, Rich Moore and Clark Spencer.

Production Design: "Arrival,'' Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Paul Hotte; "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them,'' Production Design: Stuart Craig; Set Decoration: Anna Pinnock; "Hail, Caesar!'' Production Design: Jess Gonchor; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh; "La La Land,'' Production Design: David Wasco; Set Decoration: Sandy Reynolds-Wasco; "Passengers,'' Production Design: Guy Hendrix Dyas; Set Decoration: Gene Serdena.

"Arrival,'' Bradford Young; "La La Land,'' Linus Sandgren; "Lion,'' Greig Fraser; "Moonlight,'' James Laxton; "Silence,'' Rodrigo Prieto.

Sound Mixing: "Arrival,'' Bernard Gariepy Strobl and Claude La Haye; "Hacksaw Ridge,'' Kevin O'Connell, Andy Wright, Robert Mackenzie and Peter Grace; "La La Land,'' Andy Nelson, Ai-Ling Lee and Steve A. Morrow; "Rogue One,'' David Parker, Christopher Scarabosio and Stuart Wilson; "13 Hours,'' Greg P. Russell, Gary Summers, Jeffrey J. Haboush and Mac Ruth.

Sound Editing: "Arrival,'' Sylvain Bellemare;''Deepwater Horizon,'' Wylie Stateman and Renee Tondelli; ''Hacksaw Ridge'' Robert Mackenzie and Andy Wright; "La La Land,'' Ai-Ling Lee and Mildred Iatrou Morgan; ''Sully,'' Alan Robert Murray and Bub Asman.

Original Score: "Jackie,'' Mica Levi; ``La La Land,'' Justin Hurwitz; "Lion,'' Dustin O'Halloran and Hauschka;''Moonlight,'' Nicholas Britell; "Passengers,'' Thomas Newman.

Original Song: "Audition (The Fools Who Dream),'' from "La La Land,'' music by Justin Hurwitz, lyric by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul; "Can't Stop the Feeling!'' from "Trolls,'' music and lyric by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Karl Johan Schuster; "City of Stars'' from "La La Land,'' music by Justin Hurwitz, lyric by Ben Pasek and Justin Paul; "The Empty Chair'' from "Jim: The James Foley Story,'' music and lyric by J. Ralph and Sting; "How Far I'll Go'' from "Moana,'' music and lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda.

Costume Design: "Allied,'' Joanna Johnston; "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them,'' Colleen Atwood; "Florence Foster Jenkins,'' Consolata Boyle; "Jackie,'' Madeline Fontaine; "La La Land,'' Mary Zophres.

Documentary Feature: "Fire at Sea,'' Gianfranco Rosi and Donatella Palermo; "I am Not Your Negro,'' Raoul Peck, Remi Grellety and Hebert Peck; "Life, Animated,'' Roger Ross Williams and Julie Goldman; "O.J.: Made in America,'' Ezra Edelman and Caroline Waterlow; "13th,'' Ava DuVernay, Spencer Averick and Howard Barish.

Documentary (short subject): "Extremis,'' Dan Krauss; "4.1 Miles'' Daphne Matziaraki; ''Joe's Violin,'' Kahane Cooperman and Raphaela Neihausen; "Watani: My Homeland,'' Marcel Mettelsiefen and Stephen Ellis; "The White Helmets,'' Orlando von Einsiedel and Joanna Natasegara.

Film Editing: "Arrival,'' Joe Walker; "Hacksaw Ridge,'' John Gilbert; "Hell or High Water,'' Jake Roberts; "La La Land,'' Tom Cross; "Moonlight,'' Nat Sanders and Joi McMillon.

Makeup and Hairstyling: "A Man Called One,'' Eva von Bahr and Love Larson; "Star Trek Beyond,'' Joel Harlow and Richard Alonzo; "Suicide Squad,'' Alessandro Bertolazzi, Giorgio Gregorini and Christopher Nelson.

Animated Short Film: "Blind Vaysha,'' Theodore Ushev;''Borrowed Time,'' Andrew Coats and Lou Hamou-Lhadj; ''Pear Cider and Cigarettes,'' Robert Valley and Cara Speller; ''Pearl,'' Patrick Osborne; "Piper,'' Alan Barillaro and Marc Sondheimer.

Live Action Short Film: "Ennemis Interieurs,'' Selim Azzazi; ''La Femme et le TGV,'' Timo von Gunten and Giacun Caduff; "Silent Nights,'' Aske Bang and Kim Magnusson; "Sing,'' Kristof Deak and Anna Udvardy; "Timecode,'' Juanjo Gimenez.

Visual Effects: "Deepwater Horizon,'' Craig Hammack, Jason Snell, Jason Billington and Burt Dalton; ''Doctor Strange,'' Stephane Ceretti, Richard Bluff, Vincent Cirelli and Paul Corbould; "The Jungle Book,'' Robert Legato, Adam Valdez, Andrew R. Jones and Dan Lemmon; ''Kubo and the Two Strings,'' Steve Emerson, Oliver Jones, Brian McLean and Brad Schiff; "Rogue One: A Star Wars Story,'' John Knoll, Mohen Leo, Hal Hickel and Neil Corbould.