Accessibility links

Breaking News

Italy Imposes Entry Ban on Eight Southern African States

A man receives his third dose of coronavirus disease (COVID-19) vaccine at a Red Cross vaccination centre by Termini, Rome's main train station, as the government discusses more stringent rules for the health pass known as a Green Pass, in Rome, Italy, No

Italy imposed an entry ban Friday on people who have visited any one of eight southern African states in the last 14 days, because of the spread of a new COVID-19 variant there.

Italian Health Minister Roberto Speranza signed an executive order banning entry of travelers from South Africa, Lesotho, Botswana, Malawi, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Namibia and Eswatini.

"Our scientists are studying the new B.1.1.529 variant. In the meantime, we will adopt the greatest possible caution," Speranza said.